(NBC News) – (11/14/19) You now must be at least 21-years-old to purchase tobacco products in New York State.
On Wednesday a new state law went into effect raising the minimum age from 18 to 21.
State health officials hope the move will reduce the number of young people lighting up.
The age change impacts all tobacco products including e-cigarettes and chewing tobacco.
- Backlash to Georgia voting law continues as lawmakers remain split
- 1 year later: twin cities almost fully recovered from Easter 2020 tornado
- Rising Mississippi River to close wildlife management area
- Louisiana’s latest legislative session moves past pandemic
- Judge: No work on entertainment pier as lawsuit is pending