Two area principals, two area teachers announced as finalists for state awards

Local News
neville high school_1505404678738.jpg

BATON ROUGE, La. – (5/23/19) The Louisiana Department of Education today announced the finalists for the 2020 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards during a reception hosted by First Lady Donna Edwards and Dream Teachers, LLC, at the Louisiana Governor’s Mansion. The 18 finalists are elementary, middle, and high school educators from school systems across the state. Winners will be selected from this group and named at an awards ceremony this summer.

“It is my privilege to join the First Lady and our partners at Dream Teachers in honoring this talented and passionate group of educators from across the state,” said State Superintendent John White. “These inspiring teachers and principals are leaders in their classrooms, as well as in their communities, and we are proud to call them Louisiana educators.”

“Teachers and principals are two of Louisiana’s greatest assets, and when we invest in them, we invest in our children,” said First Lady Donna Edwards. “Educators often go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure the success of students, and this honor recognizes the exemplary dedication and skills they bring to the classroom every day. Their work is helping to create a brighter future for our young people and our state.”

The 2020 Louisiana Teacher of the Year finalists include:

  • Emily Ogden at Rayville High School, Richland Parish
  • Amanda Crane at Homer Elementary School, Claiborne Parish
  • Lacey Blocker at Maplewood Middle School, Calcasieu Parish
  • Lisa Celestine Jack at Vidrine Elementary School, Evangeline Parish
  • Jessica Borland at South Grant Elementary School, Grant Parish
  • Brittany Legendre at Thibodaux High School, Lafourche Parish
  • Annie Smith at Lake Charles Charter Academy, Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation
  • Jessica Breaux at Edward Hynes Charter School, Orleans Parish
  • Christopher Dier at Chalmette High School, St. Bernard Parish

The 2020 Louisiana Principal of the Year finalists include:

  • Christella Dawson at Neville High School, City of Monroe School District
  • Charles Wright at Ouachita Junior High School, Ouachita Parish
  • Brad Soileau at Oakdale High School, Allen Parish
  • Carli Francois at Dutchtown High School, Ascension Parish
  • Steven Schulz at South Beauregard Elementary School, Beauregard Parish
  • Lisa Burns at W.T. Lewis Elementary School, Bossier Parish
  • Greg Hayden at Juban Parc Junior High School, Livingston Parish
  • Jennifer Dennis Carey at KIPP East Community Primary, Orleans Parish
  • Tamika Green at Albert Cammon Middle School, St. Charles Parish

Stay up to date with the latest news by downloading the KTVE/KARD News App from the App Store or Google Play.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Don't Miss

Trending Stories