Texting and driving not talked about nearly enough as it should be, one millennial says

Local News

(04/12/19) Arkansas law prohibits texting and driving regardless of any age. In recent years, millenial drivers have become the biggest offenders. One millennial believes texting and driving isn’t talked about nearly enough as it should.

“We never really discussed distracted driving even though I definitely think it’s more distracted driving than it is drunk driving,” said Savannah Slaughter.

Slaughter is a 19-year old student at South Arkansas Community College. She’s been driving for three years now. She vividly remembers the fake prom crash lesson of drinking and driving but not many conversations about texting while driving.

“It’s not talked about near as much as it should be,” Slaugher said.

Especially since millennials are the main ones breaking the law. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, drivers between 16 to 24 years old have been observed using handheld electronic devices while driving at higher rates than older drivers.

They use their phones to talk, text and scroll through social media while operating a vehicle.Slaughter says she isn’t surprised.

“Our age group is definitely more phone frenzy,” Slaughter said.

Law enforcement officers across the nation are hoping to break the attachment. State police are amping up highway patrol to make sure people aren’t distracted while driving.

“It’s becoming second nature when it involves an accident scene is finding out if there was any distracted driving involved especially texting and driving,” Lt. Christopher Lutman said. 

Fines can range from $250 for the first offense and $500 after that.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Don't Miss