Union County Election Commission preps for Super Tuesday

Arkansas News

UNION COUNTY, Ark. (03/02/20) — With Super Tuesday just hours away for Arkansans, Union County voters can expect a little something different when they head to the polls.

This year there will be new polling machines and voters can vote at any of the 19 precincts in the county.

“You can go anywhere and vote,” Election Coordinator, Shelby Ward said. “You’ll be down there fishing at Felsenthal and live in El Dorado. You can vote down there and go right back to fishing.”

There are some locations changes if you’re looking to vote in Parker’s Chapel or Three Creeks.

“Parkers Chapel was at the school. It has been moved to First Baptist Church,” Chairman of the Union County Election Commission, Janelle Ward said. “Three Creeks used to be at their water building and it has been moved to Three Creeks Baptist Church.”

Vote center locations include the following areas:

  • South Arkansas Community College, EastCampus- 3969 E. Main St.
  • Hillsboro Church of Christ- 1322 W. Hillsboro St.
  • Mt. Union Baptist Church- 653 Mt. Union Rd.
  • El Dorado Municipal Auditorium- 100 W. 8th St.
  • Wyatt Baptist Church- 4621 W. Hillsboro St.
  • Union County Fairgrounds- 1432 9th St.
  • St. James Baptist Church- 608 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
  • Parker’s Chapel First Baptist Church-2975 Haynesville Hwy
  • Huttig Community Center- 501 Frost St.
  • Calion Community Center- 159 N. Hoover St.
  • Felsenthal City Hall-1000 S. 3rd. St.
  • Junction City City Hall- 200N. Main St.
  • Strong Community Center- 9400 Strong Hwy.
  • Lawson Fire Department- 140 McCall St.
  • Mt. Holly Community Church 2935 Stephens Hwy
  • Norphlet City Hall-101 E. Padgett St.
  • First United Methodist Church-500 W. 5th

“Why wait?” Early voting numbers low ahead of Super Tuesday, officials urge residents to cast their ballots

SOUTH ARKANSAS (02/28/20) — Several counties in South Arkansas say early voting numbers show a low turnout for this year’s primary election.

Union County, Ashley County and Ouachita County are all seeing a low number of voters cast their ballots. As of Friday morning, Union County had 957 voters show up to the polls. County Clerk, Shannon Phillips said this isn’t what they hoped for.

Early votes in Ashley County totaled 1,235 at the end of the day on Friday. In 2016, Ashley County had 3917 people to cast their ballots early. There are over 11,000 registered voters in the county.

With over 15,000 registered voters in Ouachita County only 221 residents participate in the early voting period the first week. As of Friday afternoon, there were a little over a thousand residents that cast their vote.

Clerks from each county said things began “incredibly slow” but picked up as this week came to an end. Chairman of Union County Election Commission, Janelle Williams believe voters aren’t showing up to the polls early because of what’s on the ballot.

“We don’t have a lot of local races on the ballots,” she said.

Markeith Cook votes early every year and shares the same sentiment.

“People tend to come out more for people they know. People they’re used to seeing running for offices,” Cook said.

Officials believe this could be an indication of Super Tuesday but they aren’t for sure. The numbers are a cause for concern though.

“You want people to come out and vote,” Williams. “We have that right to vote and sure there may not be that many local races but those local races are important.”

Cook has been encouraging the community to get out and vote. He says it only takes a few minutes and there’s no reason to wait.

“Anything can happen. I can plan on voting on election day and something can happen where I’m not in town,” Cook said. “I would hate to lose the opportunity to vote because I didn’t want to vote when I had the opportunity.”

Early voting hours 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday and 8:00 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Monday. Early voting takes place at the Crossett Economic Development Building in Crossett and the Ashley County Courthouse. Residents in Union and Ouachita counties can vote at their respective courthouses.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Don't Miss

Trending Stories