UPDATE: I-20 Economic Development Board Holds First Meeting in Seven Months

The I-20 Economic Development Board met Thursday for the first time in months.
UPDATE: The Board of Directors made some big decisions during the first meeting of the year. 

The board unanimously elected Otis Chisley as President, Johnny Bryant Vice President, and Charles Pritchard Secretary/Treasurer.

They also decided to allocate nearly 2.7-million dollars to the City of Monroe for the Monroe Regional Air Terminal project which was recently completed. The dollar will help pay off the short-term debt for the city. Monroe Mayor Jamie Mayo, who is on the board of directors, says while the airport is not physically in the I-20 district, it is contiguous to it. 

Finally, the board chose Denmen Engineering to oversee the I-20 Service Road Northeast design, which will connect Garrett Road to Millhaven. 

The next meeting is set for January 16th at 5 p.m. at Monroe City Hall. 

UPDATE: The I-20 Economic Development Board is meeting tonight for the first time in months. Enough members of the board showed up for the group to have a quorum. 

KTVE/KARD's Nina Criscuolo says four members of the board showed up. One of the board's newest members, Rowena Sledge, is not on hand for the meeting. 

Monroe -- The I-20 Economic Development Board is set to meet tonight for the first time in months.

Two new members were appointed to the board last week.

The new board members are Johnny Bryant and Rowena Sledge.

Tonight's agenda contains two sessions, one closed and one open.

During today's meeting, the board will decide on the election of officers, the selection of an engineer and funding for the Monroe Regional Air Terminal.

KTVE/KARD will have a crew at tonight's meeting and have a full update tonight at 9p/10p.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus