Biomedical Research Foundation Announces Newly Formed University Health Board of Directors

The Biomedical Research Foundation announced the thirteen members of the newly-formed University Health Board of Directors.
Monroe/Shreveport -- The Biomedical Research Foundation announced the thirteen members of the newly-formed University Health Board of Directors.

According to Malcolm Murchison, BRF Board Member and Chair of the University Health Board of Directors Selection Committee, “We are very pleased with the thirteen individuals who have agreed to serve on the board of directors that will oversee operations of University Health Shreveport and Conway.

It will be a significant volunteer responsibility and we believe this board is up to the task. I want to extend the appreciation of the selection committee to all the applicants who put their name up for consideration.”

Steve Skrivanos, BRF Board Chairman, noted, “The selection committee has done an excellent job in advancing this process. We are very pleased with the skills and talents of the individuals that have been selected and believe the board reflects well the communities served by University Health Shreveport and Conway.”

University Health Board members will have governance and oversight roles, including fiscal responsibility, executive performance, support the mission of LSU Medical school, and protection of the safety-net mission of the two hospitals.

The composition of the board is as follows:
North Louisiana Community Representatives 7
LSU School of Medicine Shreveport Chancellor 1
University Health CEO 1
Biomedical Research Foundation (BRF) Board appointees 4

Robert A. Barish, M.D., MBA, has been Chancellor of LSU Health Shreveport since 2009 following a distinguished 24-year career in academic medicine at the University of Maryland Medical Center. In Maryland, he founded a nationally recognized emergency medicine program and served as Vice Dean of Clinical Affairs at the University of Maryland Medical Center. Following the 2005 devastation of Hurricane Katrina to the Gulf Coast, Dr. Barish helped lead a medical regiment dispatched by the State of Maryland that delivered emergency care to more than 6,000 hurricane victims.

Richard Cascio, CPA, is University Health System Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director at Alvarez and Marsal Healthcare Industry Group. A & M has been instrumental in steering the transition from LSU Health Shreveport and EA Conway hospitals to the privatized University Health. Mr. Cascio has more than 30 years of healthcare industry experience with focus on hospital turnarounds and performance improvements. He has served as president and CEO of other healthcare systems, including a medical center that received both the AHA Hospital Turnaround of the Year award and the Top 100 Hospital Award.

John F. George, Jr., M.D., is from Shreveport and owner and manager of G6 Management, LLC. After several years as a geologist in the oil and gas industry, Dr. George began his medical career as a physician and co-founded LifeCare Management Service, LLC. As Executive Vice President of Development, he was responsible for numerous hospital startups and acquisitions. Dr. George is currently the President of the Biomedical Research Foundation.

Sam A. Gilliam is a former Assistant Chief Administrative Officer for the Shreveport and former Interim Chancellor of Southern University Shreveport. While with the City of Shreveport, he coordinated the Fair Share Program. Mr. Gilliam served SUSLA in several administrative capacities, including Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs. Mr. Gilliam was president of Caddo Council on Aging, and served on the boards of the Louisiana Association for the Blind, the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce Leadership Shreveport, and the Northwest Louisiana Boy Scout Urban Initiative.

Amanda Dosher Grey, RHIT, CCS, CMC, of Oak Grove, is part owner of West Carroll Health Systems, a rural for-profit entity including a hospital, nursing home, home health, home care agency, five rural health clinics, a rehabilitation department and ancillary services. Ms. Grey has 25 years of experience in rural hospital administration, including day-to-day clinical operations and coordination of medical staff.

Linda Singler Holyfield, RN, MSN, is from Monroe and is President & CEO of Specialty Management Services of Ouachita, which provides medical services and consulting for hospitals, and President & CEO of P & S Surgical Hospital in Monroe, a 22 bed, joint venture procedural hospital. Ms. Holyfield served in several management and leadership positions while at St. Francis Medical Center, and has led the establishment of the St. Francis Community Health Center and the Northeast Louisiana Cancer Institute.

Don E. Jones is President of Jones Brothers Company, Inc., located in Bossier City. Mr. Jones is past chairman of the Biomedical Research Foundation, and a former mayor of Bossier City. In addition to being named one of the Leaders of the new Century in 2001 by the Shreveport Times, Mr. Jones has led and served on numerous civic, community, educational, and healthcare-related boards.

Dr. R. Timothy Jones is Senior Pastor of the Peaceful Rest Missionary Baptist Church in Shreveport, Dean of the Congress of Christian Workers, and Member of the Board of Directors of the National Baptist Convention of America. Dr. Jones has served as President of the Cedar Grove Community Development Corporation and the Baptist Minister Fellowship Conference of Greater Shreveport.

Claude B. Minor, Jr., M.D., of Delhi, is a physician and surgeon specializing in general, thoracic, vascular, and laparoscopic surgery. Dr. Minor is a former board member of Glenwood Medical Center and former chairman and founding member of Monroe Surgical Hospital.

Terry E. Moore is Senior Financial Manager with Merrill Lynch in Shreveport and a member of the Biomedical Research Foundation Board of Directors. Mr. Moore holds an MBA Degree and sits on various civic boards including the Boy Scouts of America, the Downtown Development Authority and The First Tee of Northwest Louisiana.

Maxine Elizabeth Prescott Sarpy, of Shreveport, is a registered nurse who currently serves as a Child Care Health Consultant, and Consultant for the Head Start Program of the Caddo Community Action Agency. Ms. Sarpy has considerable experience in the healthcare field, serving as head nurse, nursing supervisors, and director of programs. She is also an active community advocate with numerous current and past board affiliations, including the Community Foundation of North Louisiana, the Auxiliary to the Louisiana Medical Association, the Caddo Council in Aging, and the Organization for Shreveport Women’s Commission.

Steve Skrivanos is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Biomedical Research Foundation and is from Shreveport. He is an independent oil and gas operator, starting his firm, Skrivanos Engineering in the late 1980s. Mr. Skrivanos has served on numerous boards, including the Episcopal Diocese of Western Louisiana, the National Advisory Board for Community Renewal, Southern Trace Board of Governors, and Loyola College Prep, where he is also chairman of its capital campaign.

Frank Williams from Shreveport is Executive Director and Secretary of the Board of Directors for the Southern University Shreveport Foundation. He is also President & CEO of Williams IV, LLC, a business and economic development and investment group company, and My Spa My Way, LLC, Inc. Mr. Williams is former Executive Director of the Downtown Development Authority and former Vice President for Government Affairs for Horseshoe Entertainment. He is currently a board member of the Louisiana Council on Problem Gambling and the Spring Street Historical Museum.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus