Victor Lange Becomes First LA Tech Golfer to Receive NCAA Regional Bid


RUSTON, La. - Louisiana Tech sophomore Victor Lange made history Monday as he became the first golfer in school history to receive a bid to compete at the NCAA Regionals. Lange will compete at the San Antonio Regional at Briggs Ranch Golf Club on May 15-17.

Lange is one of 10 individuals selected for the San Antonio Regional along with 13 teams in the field. The top five teams and top individual not on those five teams advance to the NCAA Championships.

"I am very excited," Lange said of his selection to the NCAA Regionals. "It is very cool to see my name on the Golf Channel. It is obviously fantastic to make school history and it is what I came here to do, I suppose. I am excited to go to Briggs Ranch and do my best but I don't intend to stop at regionals - I want to keep playing this season. I am absolutely ecstatic and I couldn't be more happy."

This marks the first time a Bulldog individual has received an NCAA Regional selection since the school made the move to Division I in the late 1970s. The only other appearance Louisiana Tech has made in NCAA postseason play came as the team went to the NCAA Division II Championships in 1969.

He is headed to a regional site the Bulldogs have already seen this year when Louisiana Tech competed at the Lone Star Invitational held at regional host Briggs Ranch Golf Club. In that tournament Lange shot 4-over-par (72-74-74=220) as he tied for 30th.

"In scheduling there is a method to the madness," Parks said of making a return to Briggs Ranch. "I scheduled that event for our team with the NCAA Regionals in mind, knowing that it was one of the six sites and it paid off. I believe this is a huge advantage for Victor to have played three competitive rounds and a practice round. He will have a good comfort level there having already played and the course, trees and grasses will be an advantage for him than if he had been sent to any other site.

Lange has recorded three top-five finishes this year and five top-10 finishes to his credit this season. That includes a tie for fourth place at the Conference USA Championship earlier this week where he shot 3-over-par 213 (68-73-72=213) over the course of three days, claiming all-tournament honors. His current ranking of No. 171 is the highest he has been ranked in his young career.

The best round of the season for Lange this year came at the Bayou City Collegiate Championship where he shot a 7-under-par 67 on a challenging par-72 course. He would finish that tournament in second place.

The NCAA Men's Golf Selection Committee selected a total of 81 teams (including 31 automatic qualifiers and 50 at-large teams) and 45 individuals not on selected teams for NCAA Regional participation. Those 81 teams and 45 individuals were divided up among six regional sites for play on May 15-17. Three regions will have 13 teams and 10 individuals not on those teams (as is the case in San Antonio) and the other three regions will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.

Lange is one of six Conference USA individual golfers to make the NCAA field along with Matt Mabrey (Tulsa), Logan McCracken (Tulsa), Franco Castro (Charlotte), Eric Brady (East Carolina) and Martin Simonsen (UTEP). Additionally, the full teams from Rice, Middle Tennessee and UAB will be competing at the NCAA Regionals as those teams received bids.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Golf, please follow @LATechGolf on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.  Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.


Briggs Ranch Golf Club - San Antonio, Texas

Hosted by UTSA

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia
2. Central Florida
4. Vanderbilt
5. South Florida
6. SMU [American Athletic Conference]
7. Georgia Southern [Southern Conference]
8. Georgia State [Sun Belt Conference]
9. TCU
10. Northwestern
11. College of Charleston [Colonial Conference]
12. VCU [Atlantic 10]
13. Columbia [Ivy Group]


1. Eric Oja, Arizona
2. Grant Forrest, San Diego
3. Grady Brame, Southeastern Louisiana
4. Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech
5. Alex McMahon, Arizona
6. Preston Stanley, Houston Baptist
7. Martin Simonsen, Texas-El Paso
8. Stuart Smallwood, Texas State
9. Peter Kim, Army
10. Peter Ballo, Sacred Heart


Auburn University Club - Auburn, Alabama

Hosted by Auburn


1. Alabama [Southeastern Conference]
2. Virginia Tech
3. Texas [Big 12 Conference]
4. Auburn
5. New Mexico [Mountain West Conference]
6. BYU [West Coast Conference]
7. Kennesaw State
8. Colorado
9. Louisville
10. UNC-Greensboro
11. UC Davis
12. Sam Houston State [Southland Conference]
13. St. John's [Big East Conference]
14. Alabama State [Southwestern Athletic Conference]


1. Blake Morris, Ole Miss
2. JD Tomlinson, Florida
3. Jared Bettcher, Troy
4. Marco Iten, Austin Peay
5. Theodore Lederhausen, Harvard


The Club at Old Hawthorne - Columbia, Missouri

Hosted by Missouri

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Oklahoma State
2. Virginia
3. LSU
4. Arkansas
5. Arizona State
6. Iowa
7. San Diego State
8. Missouri
9. Iowa State
10. Middle Tennessee State
11. Ohio State
12. Denver [The Summit League]
13. Loyola-Maryland [Patriot League]
14. Bryant [Northeast Conference]


1. Pep Angles, Central Arkansas
2. Matt Mabrey, Tulsa
3. Logan McCracken, Tulsa
4. Daniel Wood, Kansas State
5. Alex Taylor, Fairfield


Lonnie Poole Golf Club - Raleigh, North Carolina

Hosted by NC State

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]
2. Washington
3. Florida State
4. Texas A&M
5. Mercer  [Atlantic Sun Conference]
6. Kentucky
7. Texas Tech
8. Wake Forest
9. South Alabama
10. Memphis
11. Minnesota [Big Ten Conference]
12. Rice [Conference USA]
13. Bethune-Cookman [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]


1. J.T. Poston, West Carolina
2. Evan Russell, Hartford
3. Franco Castro, UNC-Charlotte
4. Brandon Matthews, Temple
5. Richard Fountain, Davidson
6. Eric Brady, East Carolina
7. Andrew Dorn, Coastal Carolina
8. Ben Wheeler, Coastal Carolina
9. Sean Bosdosh, Maryland
10. Zach Seabolt, Winthrop


Rich Harvest Farms - Sugar Grove, Illinois

Hosted by the Northern Illinois

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Cal
2. Illinois
3. USC
4. Alabama-Birmingham
6. Clemson
7. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
8. Purdue
9. Mississippi State
10. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]
11. New Mexico State [Western Athletic Conference]
12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Cleveland State [Horizon League]
14. Saint Peter's [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]


1. Niall Platt, Notre Dame
2. Chris O'Neill, Michigan
3. Danny Pizetoski, Richmond
4. Juan Veloza, Towson
5. Rob van de Vin, IUPUI


Eugene Country Club - Eugene, Oregon

Hosted by Oregon


1. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Houston
3. Oklahoma
4. South Carolina
5. Baylor
6. Liberty [Big South Conference]
7. Oregon
8. Tennessee
9. North Florida
10. East Tennessee State
11. Tennessee-Chattanooga
12. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]
13. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]


1. Cody Blick, San Jose State
2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force
3. David Fink, Oregon State
4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State
5. Byron Meth, Pacific
6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount
7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco
8. Pete Fernandez, California Irvine
9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State
10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News