Defense Leads Gold to 27-0 Win in ULM Spring Game

MONROE, La. -- On Saturday afternoon the Gold team scored two defensive touchdowns in the first quarter and added two touchdowns late to claim a 27-0 victory over the Maroon team in the annual Spring Game at Malone Stadium.
Cody Robinson put the Gold team on the board first as he intercepted a Brayle Brown pass and returned it 48 yards for a score. Later in the first quarter, Ray Stovall recovered a fumble and raced 15 yards to the endzone to put Gold ahead, 14-0.
In the final minutes of the first half, Jacob Tyson intercepted Brian Williams to set up a field goal attempt by Justin Manton; however, Manton missed the 38-yard attempt.
In the fourth quarter, Earnest Carrington hooked up with two different receivers to put the game away. Carrington completed a pass to Vincent Hobbs for a 65-yard pitch and catch and with less than four minutes to play Carrington found Ajalen Holley for the final score of the game to set the final tally at 27-0.
During halftime of Saturday’s Spring Game, the Warhawk football team handed out its post-season awards and honored its 2013 permanent captains (offense: Rashon Ceaser, defense: Cameron Blakes, special teams: Justin Manton) and the program’s 2013 letterwinners (57 total).
Kolton Browning was honored with the President’s Award which is given annually in recognition of the highest achieving student-athlete who sees playing time on the field.
This year’s Al Miller Award was given to two Warhawks as Jyruss Edwards and Cameron Blakes both earned the honor. The award is given for dedication to strength and conditioning and it is in honor of Al Miller, a former strength and conditioning coach at ULM is also a member of the ULM Athletics Hall of Fame (wide receiver).
Jon Fisher was given the John David Crow Academic Award which is given to the highest achieving student-athletes. The award is named after Crow who is a former ULM head football coach as well as athletic director and he is a ULM Athletics Hall of Fame member.
Vincent Eddie was honored with the Chip Luffey Award which is presented annually to a senior student-athlete who exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership  and good character. It was established in 1981 in memory of Chip Luffey, a former ULM student.
The Coaches’ Warhawk Award was given to Ray Stovall. The award honors the student-athlete who is emblematic of what a Warhawk player should strive to be on the field, in the classroom and their involvement in the university and the community.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News