Drew Brees, Jimmy Graham Headline Five Saints Named to Pro Bowl

New Orleans -- The New Orleans Saints placed five players on the 2014 Pro Bowl squad announced by the NFL on Friday - quarterback Drew Brees, tight end Jimmy Graham, defensive end Cameron Jordan and guards Jahri Evans and Ben Grubbs.

It is Brees’ eighth Pro Bowl selection and his seventh as a member of the Saints. Only Pro Football Hall of Fame tackle William Roaf (seven), has been selected to the Pro Bowl as many times in franchise record books. Brees’ six consecutive selections rank second in club records behind Roaf’s seven.

raham earned his second career Pro Bowl selection in the midst of one of the most stellar receiving seasons for a tight end in NFL history. Appearing in all 15 games, he leads the team in receiving with 81 receptions for 1,144 yards (14.1 avg.) with a club-record 15 touchdowns, the second-highest scoring grab total for a tight end in NFL record books and the highest receiving touchdown total in the NFL overall. In his four-year career, Graham has totaled 296 catches for 2,792 yards (12.8 avg.) with 40 touchdowns to rank sixth in club record books in receiving, eighth in receiving yardage and fourth in touchdown grabs.

Jordan has been selected to the Pro Bowl for the first time in his career on the heels of a breakout third campaign where he has posted 63 tackles (30 solo), a team-leading 12.5 sacks, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and four pass defenses. The former University of California standout, who was the club’s first draft choice in 2011 is ranked fourth in the NFL in quarterback takedowns and tied for fourth in defensive fumble recoveries.

Grubbs, in his seventh NFL season out of Auburn, has started 31 consecutive games for the Saints after signing as a free agent from the Baltimore Ravens, who selected the 6-3, 310-pounder in the first round of the 2007 draft. He was a 2011 Pro Bowl selection with the Ravens.

The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, Jan. 26 at 5 p.m. and broadcast on NBC.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News